From Movies to Books

A lot of movies are based on books. When a story is adapted to film it is rewritten. It has a lot of changes and those changes made readers and fans get quite upset sometimes. Some characters are really different from what we imagine and other don’t even appear at all. But what happens when the roles invert? When instead of watch a movie because you loved the book is actually the movie which makes you want to read the book.

This post just came has an excuse to talk about Neil Patrick Harris and Nicola Yoon, to be honest. Though, this is my top list that I’m carving at the moment. If you have any other recommendations fell free to write them down in the comments. I’m always looking for more and exciting stories to read/see.

Anime

Ao Haru Ride (Blue Spring Ride)

I don’t even know how did I find this anime but I felt instantly in love with it. Sadly, is just 12 episodes long which isn’t enough to develop the story and there was so much left to say. In a hopeful thought, I searched if it was based on a manga… and it was!!! I was so excited!! The best is that the anime was an exact replica of the manga so as I was reading I was seeing the anime episodes all over again. The manga has 12 volumes but it feels huge! It took me around 3 days to finish it and I was reading it until 4 o’clock in the morning because I couldn’t stop myself. Unfortunately, is hard to find the English manga so I might just learn Japanese and buy them in the original – way easier :p

Movies

50 Shades of Grey by E. L. James

I’ve already talked about this when I reviewed 50 Shades Darker, but after watching that movie I was seriously considering reading the books. It’s still hard for me to give so much money for them instead of spending it with other titles that probably are better and I’m more excited about. Although the way they spend telling the story in the second movie on opposite for the first one, I ended up actually curious to know more about the characters, to know more details they missed in the movie.

The Martian by Andy Weir

This one came as a surprise. I was just looking around on my Goodreads and it randomly appeared. I’ve seen the movie and is one of my whole time favourites. Basically, anything space related I’m up for it and if it has a happy ending, the better!! It never crossed my mind it was based on a novel but now I’m curious and I want to read it. Although I know I’m quite visual and I don’t know if I can have the same experience with the book that I had with the movie. We’ll see.

Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon

By this time almost everyone already saw the movie trailer. Although the movie isn’t out yet, I’m super excited for it. From this list, this is the only exception and I can change my opinion after it’s released but I don’t care. This never happened to me but as soon as I saw the trailer I decided to start reading the book. I’ve heard about it and even got it on my hands at the bookstore but decided not to get it – one big mistake! Since I’m not allowing myself to spend more money buying new books – yet – I’ve tried a free alternative. Nicola Yoon grab me in the first chapter! And after a few more I was decided to buy it next time I was going to spend money on books. I haven’t finished it yet but I’m loving it so far, which makes me even more excited for the movie. May 19th please come quickly!

Tv Series

The 100 by Kass Morgan

My love for The 100 is no secret and – again – a space related series is my beach. All of this “what could be the planet Earth 90 years without human beings?” captivates me. Since the first season I knew it was based on novels by Kass Morgan but at the same time, I read a few post where they said the story and the characters are a little bit different. Keeping in mind that is not quite usual a series or movie be better than a book, I started to be afraid of reading the books and ending up disliking the series. And since Castle ended this is the one I never fail watch and episode every single week. I’ve started marathons watching it all over again to many times and I’m afraid to lose this love by just reading the books. Although, I might be wearied for nothing and the books going hand to hand with the series.

A series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket

I’ve never heard about this ever. I casually bumped into the making of video on Youtube and all that beauty called me and made me watch it. Not going to lie, I finished off the first season and I still believe the episodes are too long. Is great for detail but a few times was getting a little bit boring. If you never heard about this is a new Netflix exclusive series based on Lemony Snicket’s books with the same title. I’ve watched a few Booktubers who actually read the books before watching the series and they say it has a lot of the same details that we (as a reader) don’t even think it would appear in the show. Maybe it helps to have the author himself writing the script as well! The only thing that I know is that I want the books. I want to read alongside while watching the episodes. My poor wallet is not going to appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

